ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශෙෂ

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 1640/16 - 2010 පෙබරවාරි 09 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2010.02.09 No. 1640/16 - TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 09, 2010

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) – GENERAL

Proclamations & c., by the President

Ref : CA/1/2/3

A PROCLAMATION BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA



Mahinda Rajapaksa

KNOW YE that by virtue of the powers vested in me by Article 70 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and in pursuance of the provisions of Section 10 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, I, Mahinda Rajapaksa, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do by this Proclamation -

- Dissolve Parliament, with effect from midnight today and summon the new Parliament to meet on the Twenty Second day of (a)April, Two Thousand and Ten;
- (b) Fix the Eighth day of April, Two Thousand and Ten as the date for the election of Members of Parliament;
- (c) Specify the period beginning on the Nineteenth day of February Two Thousand and Ten and ending at Twelve Noon of the Twenty Sixth day of February, Two Thousand and Ten as the nomination period, during which nomination papers shall be received by the Returning Officers; and
- (d) Specify each place mentioned in Column II of the Schedule hereto as the place of nomination for candidates seeking election in the electoral district mentioned in the corresponding entry in Column I of that Schedule.

Given at Colombo on this Ninth day of February, in the year Two Thousand and Ten.

By order of His Excellency,

LALITH WEERATUNGA, Secretary to the President.

I කොටස : (I) ජෙදය – ශූ ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය – 2010.02.09 Part I : Sec. (I) — GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA — 09.02.2010

Schedule

Column I

Electoral District

No. 01 - Colombo No. 02 - Gampaha No. 03 - Kalutara No. 04 - Kandy No. 05 - Matale No. 06 - Nuwara Eliya No. 07 - Galle No. 08 - Matara No. 09 - Hambantota No. 10 - Jaffna No. 11 - Vanni No. 12 - Batticaloa No. 13 - Digamadulla No. 14 - Trincomalee No. 15 - Kurunegala No. 16 - Puttalam No. 17 - Anuradhapura No. 18 - Polonnaruwa No. 19 - Badulla No. 20 - Moneragala No. 21 - Ratnapura No. 22 - Kegalle

Column II

Place of Nomination

Office of the District Secretary, Colombo Office of the District Secretary, Gampaha Office of the District Secretary, Kalutara Office of the District Secretary, Kandy Office of the District Secretary, Matale Office of the District Secretary, Nuwara Eliya Office of the District Secretary, Galle Office of the District Secretary, Matara Office of the District Secretary, Hambantota Office of the Government Agent, Jaffna Office of the Government Agent, Vavuniya Office of the Government Agent, Batticaloa Office of the Government Agent, Ampara Office of the Government Agent, Trincomalee Office of the District Secretary, Kurunegala Office of the District Secretary, Puttalam Office of the District Secretary, Anuradhapura Office of the District Secretary, Polonnaruwa Office of the District Secretary, Badulla Office of the District Secretary, Moneragala Office of the District Secretary, Ratnapura Office of the District Secretary, Kegalle