ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 1821/19 - 2013 ජූලි මස 30 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2013.07.30 No. 1821/19 - TUESDAY, JULY 30, 2013

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS the Secretary-General of Parliament has informed me, under Section 64 (1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by Act, No. 15 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Seventh Parliament by reason of Resignation of Mr. Dayasiri Jayasekara, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 15 - Kurunegala under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act.

And whereas the Returning Officer, for the electoral district which returned the said member was directed by me under Section 64 (1) of the aforesaid Act to fill this vacancy as provided for under paragraph 13(b) of Article 99 of the Constitution;

And whereas the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64 (2) of the aforesaid Act has made a return in Form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. Nalin Nilantha Bandara Wijerathne Jayamaha Hitihamilage was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said electoral district;

Now therefore, I, Mahinda Deshapriya, Commissioner of Elections, in the exercise of the powers vested in me by Section 64 (2) of the aforesaid Act, do hereby notify the general public that Mr. Nalin Nilantha Bandara Wijerathne Jayamaha Hitihamilage has been declared elected as a member of the Seventh Parliament for the Electoral District No. 15 - Kurunegala to fill the vacancy caused by reason of resignation of Mr. Dayasiri Jayasekara.

> MAHINDA DESHAPRIYA, Commissioner of Elections.

Elections Secretariat, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya, 30th July, 2013. 08-524

