ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 1871/32 - 2014 ජූලි මස 16 වැනි බදාදා - 2014.07.16 No. 1871/32 - WEDNESDAY, JULY 16, 2014

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PROVINCIAL COUNCILS ELECTIONS ACT, No. 2 OF 1988

Uva Province Provincial Council

Notice under Section 10

NOTICE is hereby given under Section 10 of the Provincial Councils Elections Act, No. 2 of 1988, (hereinafter referred to as the Act) that elections are to be held for the purpose of electing members to the above Provincial Council from the Administrative Districts situated within the Province, and specified in Column I of the Schedule hereto.

- 2. The number of candidates to be nominated for each such Administrative Districts as is specified in Column I, by a recognized political party or an independent group, shall be as specified in the corresponding entry in Column II of the Schedule hereto.
- 3. Nomination papers will be received by the respective Returning Officers at the places mentioned in the corresponding entry in Column III of the Schedule hereto, at any time during office hours during the "nomination period" which will commence on 30th July 2014 and expire at 12.00 noon on 06th August 2014.
- 4. The attention of any group of persons intending to contest as independent candidates is drawn to Section 14 of the Act under which the group leader of each independent group or any person authorised by him must deposit with Returning Officer between the date of publication of this notice and 12.00 noon on the day immediately preceding the end of the nomination period specified above (i. e. 05th August 2014) a sum calculated at the rate of Two Thousand Rupees (Rs. 2,000) per candidate.
- 5. Nomination Papers in the prescribed form can be obtained from the Returning Officer free of charge, before the expiry of the nomination period.
- 6. Approved symbols for recognised political parties and approved symbols and distinguishing numbers for independent groups will be allotted by the Returning Officers at each of the District Secretariat (Kachcheri), immediately after 12.00 noon on 06th August 2014.

Mahinda Deshapriya, Commissioner of Elections.



Elections Secretariat, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya, 16th July, 2014.

SCHEDULE

Column I	Column II	Column III
Name of Administrative District	Number of Candidates required to be set out in each Nomination Paper	Officer receiving Nominations and Place of Nomination
Badulla	21	Returning Officer, District Secretariat (Kachcheri), Badulla.
Monaragala	17	Returning Officer, District Secretariat (Kachcheri), Monaragala.

08-134