

අංක 2153/18 - 2019 දෙසැම්බර් මස 12 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2019.12.12 No. 2153/18 - THURSDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2019

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH (13)(b) OF ARTILCE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPULIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission under Section 64 (1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by the Act, No. 15 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Eighth Parliament by reason of death of **Mr. Thirimadura Ranjith De Zoysa**, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 21 - Rathnapura under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act ;

AND WHEREAS the Returning Officer, for the electoral district which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the aforesaid Act to fill this vacancy as provided for under Pararaph (13)(b) of Article 99 of the Constitution ;

AND WHEREAS the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the aforesaid Act has made a return in Form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that **Mr. Udagama Liyanage Waruna Priyantha Liyanage** was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said electoral distict ;

NOW THEREFORE, we the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64 (2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, which shall be read with the provisions of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do hereby notify the general public that **Mr. Udagama Liyanage Waruna Priyantha Liyanage**, has been declared elected as a Member of the Eighth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 21 - Rathnapura to fill the vacancy caused by reason of death of **Mr. Thirimadura Ranjith De Zoysa**.

MAHINDA DESHAPRIYA Chairman Election Commission

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 12th December, 2019. N. J. ABEYSEKERE Member Election Commission S. RATNAJEEVAN H. HOOLE Member Election Commission



1A G 31477—392 (12/2019) PRINTED AT THE DEPARTMENT OF GOVERNMENT PRINTING, SRI LANKA. *This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from* www.documents.gov.lk