

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2140/1 - 2019 සැප්තැම්බර් මස 09 වැනි සඳුදා - 2019.09.09 No. 2140/1 - MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 09, 2019

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Other Appointment & c.,

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by the Act, No. 15 of 1988, that a Vacancy has occured in the Membership of the Eighth Parliament by reason of death of Mr. Salinda Dissanayake, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 15 - Kurunegala under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act;

And Whereas the Returning Officer, for the Electoral District which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No.1 of 1981 to fill this vacancy as provided for under Paragraph 13(b) of Article 99 of the Constitution;

And Whereas the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2)of the aforesaid Act has made a return in Form "M" setout in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. H. M. D. B. Herath was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said Electoral District;

Now therefore, we, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 which shall be read with the Provisions of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do hereby notify the General Public that Mr. H. M. D. B. Herath has been declared elected as a Member of the Eighth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 15 - Kurunegala to fill the vacancy caused by reason of death of Mr. Salinda Dissanayake.

Mahinda Deshapriya, Chairman, Election Commission. N. J. ABEYSEKERE, Member, Election Commission. S. RATNAJEEVAN H. HOOLE, Member, Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 09th September, 2019.

1A - G 30557—387 (09/2019)

PRINTED AT THE DEPARTMENT OF GOVERNMENT PRINTING, SRI LANKA.

This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk

N. B.: Gazette Extraordinary series No. 2139/1 ends with 2139/76