

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2140/57 - 2019 සැප්තැම්බර් මස 12 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2019.09.12 No. 2140/57 - THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 12, 2019

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by the Act, No. 15 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Eighth Parliament by reason of death of Mr. Gajadeera Vidhanearachchige Bans Chandrasiri, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 8 - Matara under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act.

AND WHEREAS the Returning Officer, for the electoral district which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the aforesaid Act to fill this vacancy as provided for under paragraph 13(b) of Article 99 of the Constitution.

AND WHEREAS the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the aforesaid Act has made a return in Form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that Mr. Manoj Prasanga Hewagampalage was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said electoral district.

NOW THEREFORE, we, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 which shall be read with the provisions



2A I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය - ශීු ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශේෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2019.09.12 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 12.09.2019

of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do hereby notify the general public that Mr. Manoj Prasanga Hewagampalage has been declared elected as a Member of the Eighth Parliament for the Electrol District No. 8 - Matara to fill the vacancy caused by reason of death of Mr. Gajadeera Vidhanearachchige Bans Chandrasiri.

Mahinda Deshapriya Chairman Election Commission N. J. ABEYSEKERE
Member
Election Commission

S. RATNAJEEVAN H. HOOLE

Member

Election Commission

Elections Secretariat, Rajagiriya, 12th September, 2019.