

අංක 2160/10 - 2020 ජනවාරි මස 27 වැනි සඳුදා - 2020.01.27 No.2160/10-MONDAY, JANUARY 27,2020

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT, No. 1 OF 1981

Filling of a Vacancy under Section 64(5)

WHEREAS the Secretary General of the Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by Section 6 of the Elections (Special Provisions) Act, No. 35 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Eighth Parliament by reason of the resignation of Mr. Jayampathi Wickramaratne being a member nominated by the United National Party, a recognized Political Party, and declared elected as a Member of Parliament under Article 99A of the Constitution ;

And whereas the Secretary of that Political Party was required by the Election Commission under the aforesaid Section to nominate an eligible person to fill such vacancy;

And whereas the Secretary of the aforesaid Political Party, has nominated Mr. Weligodage Saman Rathnapriya Silva to fill such vacancy ;

Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers conferred on the Commission by Section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to be read together with the provisions of the Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do hereby declare Mr. Weligodage Saman Rathnapriya Silva, elected as a member of the Eighth Parliament to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of aforesaid Mr. Jayampathi Wickramaratne.

MAHINDA DESHAPRIYA Chairman Election Commission

Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 27th January, 2020. N. J. ABEYSEKERA Member Election Commission S. RATNAJEEVAN H. HOOLE Member Election Commission



1A - G 31847— 32 (01/2020) PRINTED AT THE DEPARTMENT OF GOVERNMENT PRINTING, SRI LANKA. *This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from* www.documents.gov.lk