

අංක 2199/7 - 2020 ඔක්තෝබර් මස 26 වැනි සඳුදා - 2020.10.26 No. 2199/7 - MONDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2020

(Published by Authority)

## PART IV (B) - LOCAL GOVERNMENT

## Notices under the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance

## FILLING OF A VACANCY IN THE OFFICE OF CHAIRMAN OF THE IBBAGAMUWA PRADESHIYA SABHA UNDER SECTION 66B(2) OF THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTIONS ORDINANCE (CHAPTER 262) AS AMENDED BY LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTION (AMENDMENT) ACT, No. 16 OF 2017

WHEREAS the office of Chairman in Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha has fallen vacant by reason of elected as a member of Parliament;

And whereas the Secretary of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, the recognized political party to which Udukumburage Sumith Weerasinghe the former Chairman belonged, was required by me under Section 66B(2) of the aforesaid ordinance, to decide upon the member of that Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha who belongs to such party who shall be declared elected as Chairman within a period of thirty (30) days;

And whereas the Secretary of the aforesaid recognized political party has communicated his decision to nominate Warnakulasooriyalage Ajith Kumar Wickramasinghe to fill such vacancy;

Now therefore, I, Gamalathge Dilip Nishantha, Returning Officer of the Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha, acting in terms of Section 66B (2) of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance (Chapter 262) as amended by Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Act, No. 16 of 2017 do hereby declare Warnakulasooriyalage Ajith Kumar Wickramasinghe was elected as the Chairman of the Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

GAMALATHGE DILIP NISHANTHA, Returning Officer, Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

District Elections Office, Kurunegala, 20th October, 2020.

 1A - G
 33196—40 (10/2020)

 This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk



2A IV (ආ) වැනි කොටස – ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2020.10.26 Part IV (B) – GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA – 26.10.2020

## FILLING OF A VACANCY IN THE OFFICE OF VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE IBBAGAMUWA PRADESHIYA SABHA UNDER SECTION 66B(2) OF THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTIONS ORDINANCE (CHAPTER 262) AS AMENDED BY LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTION (AMENDMENT) ACT, No. 16 OF 2017

WHEREAS the office of Vice Chairman of Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha has fallen vacant by reason of Vice Chairman elected as the Chairman;

And whereas the Secretary of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, the recognized political party to which Warnakulasooriyalage Ajith Kumar Wickramasinghe the former Vice Chairman belonged, was required by me under Section 66B(2) of the aforesaid Ordinance, to decide upon the member of that Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha who belongs to such party who shall be declared elected as Vice Chairman within a period of thirty (30) days;

And whereas the Secretary of the aforesaid recognized political party has communicated his decision to nominate Alawaththage Dharmakeerthi to fill such vacancy;

Now therefore, I, Gamalathge Dilip Nishantha, Returning Officer of the Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha, acting in terms of Section 66B (2) of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance (Chapter 262) as amended by Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Act, No. 16 of 2017 do hereby declare that Alawaththage Dharmakeerthi elected as the Vice Chairman of the Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

GAMALATHGE DILIP NISHANTHA, Returning Officer, Ibbagamuwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

District Elections Office, Kurunegala, 20th October, 2020.