

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2165/17 - 2020 මාර්තු මස 03 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2020.03.03 No. 2165/17 - TUESDAY, MARCH 03, 2020

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL Government Notifications

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION - 2020

Deposits from Independent Groups under Section 16 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 and Nominated Candidates from Political Parties and Independent Groups for each Electoral District

The number of members to be elected from each of the Elction District at the forthcoming Parliamentary Election, the number of candidates to be nominated and the deposits required to be made by Independent Groups are shown in the Schedule below. Recognized Political Parties are not required to make any deposit.

SCHEDULE

Name of Electroal District	Number of Members to be elected	Number of Candidates to be nominated	Amount of deposits to be made by an Independent Group
01. Colombo	19	22	Rs. 44,000/-
02. Gampaha	18	21	Rs. 42,000/-
03. Kalutara	10	13	Rs. 26,000/-
04. Mahanuwara	12	15	Rs. 30,000/-
05. Matale	05	08	Rs. 16,000/-
06. Nuwara Eliya	08	11	Rs. 22,000/-
07. Galle	09	12	Rs. 24,000/-
08. Matara	07	10	Rs. 20,000/-



SCHEDULE (Contd.)

Name of Electroal District	Number of Members to be elected	Number of Candidates to be nominated	Amount of deposits to be made by an Independent Group
09. Hambantota	07	10	Rs. 20,000/-
10. Jaffna	07	10	Rs. 20,000/-
11. Vanni	06	09	Rs. 18,000/-
12. Batticaloa	05	08	Rs. 16,000/-
13. Digamadulla	07	10	Rs. 20,000/-
14. Trincomalee	04	07	Rs. 14,000/-
15. Kurunegala	15	18	Rs. 36,000/-
16. Puttalam	08	11	Rs. 22,000/-
17. Anuradhapura	09	12	Rs. 24,000/-
18. Polonnaruwa	05	08	Rs. 16,000/-
19. Badulla	09	12	Rs. 24,000/-
20. Monaragala	06	09	Rs. 18,000/-
21. Ratnapura	11	14	Rs. 28,000/-
22. Kegalle	09	12	Rs. 24,000/-

- 02. The Government Agent/District Secretary of Jaffna will be the Returning Officer for Jaffna Electoral District which comprises of Jaffna and Kilinochchi Administrative Districts, while the Government Agent/District Secretary of Vanuniya District will be the Returning Officer of Vanni Electoral District which comprises of Mannar, Vanuniya and Mullative Administrative Districts. The Returning Officer of Digamadulla Electoral District will be the Government Agent/District Secretary of Ampara Administrative District. The Government Agents/District Secretaries of the remaining Administrative Districts will be of the Returning Officers of the respective Electoral Districts.
- 03. An Independent Group shall, between the date of publication of the Notice under Section 10 of the Parliamentary Elections Act requiring the holding of the election and the submission of the nomination paper of that group, deposit in legal tender with the Returning Officer a turn calculated at two thousand rupees in respect of each candidate nominated by such group, on working weekday during office hours.
- 04. Arrangements for receiving of deposits are made at the relevant District Secretariat or the District Elections Office.

By Order and advice of the Election Commission.

Saman Sri Rathnayake, Commissioner General of Elections.

Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 3rd March, 2020.