

## ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය සමාජවාදී

## The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2175/2 - 2020 මැයි මස 12 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2020.05.12 No. 2175/2 - TUESDAY, MAY 12, 2020

(Published by Authority)

## PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

**Government Notifications** 

L.D.B. 12/1978(III)

THE COURT OF APPEAL (PROCEDURE FOR APPEALS FROM THE HIGH COURTS ESTABLISHED BY ARTICLE 154P OF THE CONSTITUTION) (TEMPORARY PROVISIONS) RULES, 2020

RULES made under Article 136 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka by the Chief Justice and the other judges of the Supreme Court nominated by him under that Article:

- 1. Jayantha Jayasuriya, Chief Justice
- 2. B. P. Aluwihare, Judge of the Supreme Court
- 3. K. S. J. De Abrew, Judge of the Supreme Court
- 4. Priyantha Jayawardena, Judge of the Supreme Court

Colombo,

12th May, 2020.

## Rules

- 1. These rules may be cited as the Court of Appeal (Procedure for Appeals from High Courts established by Article 154P of the Constitution) (Temporary Provisions) Rules, 2020.
- 2. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in rule 2(1)(a), rule 2(2), rule 11(3) and rule 12(2), of the Court of Appeal (Procedure for appeals form High Courts established by Article 154P of the Constitution) Rules, 1988 published in the *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 549/6 of March 13, 1989-
  - (a) the period beginning with March 16, 2020 and ending on May 18, 2020 shall not be taken into account in computing the period of fourteen days referred to in rule 2(1)(a);



- (b) the period beginning with March 16, 2020 and ending on May 18, 2020 shall not be taken into account in computing the period of twenty-eight days referred to in rule 2(2);
- (c) the period beginning with March 16, 2020 and ending on May 18, 2020 shall not be taken into account in computing the period of fourteen days referred to in rule 11(3); and
- (d) the period beginning with March 16, 2020 and ending on May 18, 2020 shall not be taken into account in computing the period of sixty days referred to in rule 12(2);

JAYANTHA JAYASURIYA, Chief Justice.

B. P. Aluwihare, Judge of the Supreme Court.

K. S. J. DE ABREW, Judge of the Supreme Court.

PRIYANTHA JAYAWARDENA, Judge of the Supreme Court.