

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2186/7 - 2020 ජූලි මස 27 වැනි සඳුදා - 2020.07.27 No. 2186/7 - MONDAY, JULY 27, 2020

(Published by Authority)

## PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

### **Government Notifications**

#### SPECIAL NOTIFICATION ISSUED BY THE ELECTION COMMISSION

THE Election Commission, in pursuance of the consensus reached at the Party Secretaries' meeting held on 17.07.2020 to discuss matters relating to the counting of ballots and the appointment of Counting Agents from Political Parties / Independent Groups contesting the General Election scheduled on 05.08.2020 with due consideration to the new normalcy under controlled COVID-19 pandemic, decided to pursue action as follows:

- 1. To commence the counting of ballots at the poll scheduled on 05.08.2020 at 7.00 or 8.00 a.m. on August 06, 2020, after proper notification to Authorized Agents and Independent Group Leaders;
- 2. To appoint two (02) Agents each from a Party or Group for each receiving hall to monitor the receiving of ballot boxes on 05.08.2020;
- 3. To appoint two (02) Agents from each Party of Group for each of the polling districts to remain at the counting premises during the night on 05.08.2020;
- 4. To appoint a number of Agents as specified in the schedule from each Party or Group for an ordinary counting hall in the respective electoral district to monitor the First Stage (Box Count) the Second Stage (Party Count) and the Third Stage (Preference Count) of the counting;
- 5. Under Stage 3, the preference counting will commences with the Party / Group that obtains the highest number of votes in the counting centre and that only the Agents of the Party / Group of which preferences are counted will be permitted to remain in the hall;
- 6. Thereafter the Agents of the Party / Group whose preferences will be counted next can enter the counting hall on the request of the Chief Counting Officer;



7. The preferences of Parties / Groups which do not secure a seat from the respective electoral district will not be counted and that upon the announcement by the Returning Officer of the Parties / Groups that have secured seats, Agents of all Parties / Groups that have not secured seats should leave the counting premises.

Mahinda Deshapriya Chairman Election Commission N. J. ABEYESEKERE
Member
Election Commission

S. RATNAJEEVAN H. HOOLE

Member

Election Commission

Election Commission, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya, 26th July, 2020.

#### **SCHEDULE**

Electoral District No.	Electoral District	No. of Candidates	No. of Agents to be appointed for an ordinary counting hall		
			1 <sup>st</sup> and 2 <sup>nd</sup> Stages	3 <sup>rd</sup> Stage (Additionally)	Maximum No. of Agents appointed for 3 <sup>rd</sup> stage (including the Agents appointed for 1 <sup>st</sup> & 2 <sup>nd</sup> Stages)
1	Colombo	22	03	09	12
2	Gampaha	21	03	09	12
3	Kalutara	13	03	09	12
4	Mahanuwara	15	03	09	12
5	Matale	08	03	05	0.8
6	Nuwara Eliya	11	03	08	11
7	Galle	12	03	09	12
8	Matara	10	03	07	10
9	Hambantota	10	03	07	10
10	Jaffna	10	03	07	10
11	Vanni	09	03	06	09
12	Batticaloa	08	03	0.5	08
13	Digamadulla	10	03	07	10
14	Trincomalee	07	03	04	07
15	Kurunegala	18	03	09	12
16	Puttalam	11	03	08	11
17	Anuradhapura	12	03	09	12
18	Polonnaruwa	08	03	05	0.8
19	Badulla	12	03	09	12
20	Moneragala	09	03	06	09
21	Ratnapura	14	03	09	12
22	Kegalle	12	03	09	12

<sup>\* 1</sup>st Stage - Box Counting.

<sup>\* 2&</sup>lt;sup>nd</sup> Stage - Party Counting

<sup>\* 3&</sup>lt;sup>rd</sup> Stage - Preference Counting