

අංක 2194/29 - 2020 සැප්තැම්බර් මස 22 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2020.09.22 No. 2194/29 - TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 2020

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Proclamations & C., by the President

Seal

GOTABAYA RAJAPAKSA

PRESIDENTIAL DIRECTIVE

- 1. Anura Dissanayake Esquire Secretary, Ministry of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation
- 2. N.H.M. Chithrananda Esquire Secretary, Ministry of Education
- 3. D.M.S. Abeygunawardana Esquire Secretary, Ministry of Skills Development, Employment and Labour Relations
- 4. Prof. Sampath Amarathunga Esquire Chairman, University Grants Commission
- 5. Senior Professor Chandrika N. Wijeratne Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo



1A- G 32737 — 380 (09/2020) *This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from* www.documents.gov.lk 2A I කොටස : (I) ජෛදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2020.09.22 PART I : SEC. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 22.09.2020

- 6. Prof. U.B. Dissanayake Esquire Vice Chancellor, University of Peradeniya
- 7. Senior Prof. Sudantha Liyanage Esquire Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura
- 8. Prof. Prasantha S. Wijesinghe Esquire Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Kelaniya
- 9. Prof. K.K.C.K. Perera Esquire Vice Chancellor, University of Moratuwa
- 10. Prof. K. Kandasamy Esquire Competent Authority, University of Jaffna
- 11. Prof. T.S.D. Amarasena Esquire Vice Chancellor, University of Ruhuna
- 12. Prof. S.A. Ariadurai Esquire Vice Chancellor, Open University of Sri Lanka
- 13. Prof. F.C. Ragel Esquire Vice Chancellor, Eastern University
- 14. Prof. M.M. Najim Esquire Vice Chancellor, South Eastern University
- 15. Dr. B.A. Karunaratne Esquire Vice Chancellor, Rajarata University
- 16. Prof. Athula Gunapala Esquire Acting Vice Chancellor, Sabaragamuwa University
- 17. Dr. Sanjeewa Bowaththa Esquire Acting Vice Chancellor, Wayamba University
- Dr. J.L. Ratnasekera Esquire Acting Vice Chancellor, Uva Wellassa University
- 19. Prof. W.M. Abeyrathne Bandara Esquire Competent Authority, University of the Visual and Performing Arts
- 20. Rev. Marc Billimoria Principal, St. Thomas College, Mt. Lavinia
- 21. Rev. Sr. Alexandra Mendis Principal, St. Bridget's Convent, Colombo 7
- 22. S.M. Keerthiratne Esquire Principal, Ananda College, Colombo 10
- 23. Ms. Sandamali Aviruppola Principal, Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo 05

- 24. W.M.D.T.P. Wanasinghe Esquire Principal, Dharmaraja College, Kandy
- 25. F. Welege Esquire Principal, Rahula College, Matara
- 26. Dr. Harsha Alles Esquire Chairman, Gateway Network of Colleges
- 27. Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne Esquire Director General, National Institute of Education
- 28. B. Sanath Pujitha Esquire Commissioner General of Examinations
- 29. P.N. Ailapperuma Esquire Director (Information Technology), Ministry of Education

Greetings!

As you have been appointed as members of the Task Force on Sri Lanka's Education Affairs, established by the Presidential Directive dated 31st March, 2020 exercising the powers vested in me by Article 33 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka,

And whereas, I have, in terms of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, appointed new Cabinet of Ministers, State Ministers, Secretaries to Ministries, and Secretaries to State Ministries following the Parliamentary Election held on 05th August, 2020,

And whereas, the Ministries of Higher Education, Technology, Innovation and Skills Development, Employment and Labour Relations, no longer exists and the scope of these Ministries has been allocated to the Ministry of Education and the State Ministry of Women and Child Development, Pre-School and Primary Education, School Infrastructure and Education Services, the State Ministry of Education Reforms, Open University and Distance Learning Promotion, the State Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational Education, Research and Innovation and the State Ministries of Dhamma Schools, Bhikku Education, Piriven and Buddhist Universities which are newly established under the said Ministry of Education and whereas I am of the view that the new Secretaries of the Ministry of Education and these State Ministries should be appointed as members of the aforesaid Task Force,

Also, whereas, new Vice Chancellors have been appointed in place of Acting Vice Chancellors to the Universities of Sri Jayewardenepura, Kelaniya, Jaffna, and Wayamba and a new Vice Chancellor has been appointed for the University of Moratuwa,

I, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, in accordance with the powers vested in me by Article 33 of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, appoint the below mentioned Secretary to the Ministry, Secretaries to State Ministries and Vice Chancellors of Universities as members of the Task Force on Sri Lanka's Education Affairs, established under the aforesaid Presidential Directive in place of the members of the said Task Force referred to at 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 17, by reposing great trust, and confidence in their prudence, ability and fidelity.

- 1. Prof. Kapila Perera Esquire Secretary to the Ministry of Education
- 2. Mrs. K.M.D.S. Jayasekara

Secretary to the State Ministry of Women and Child Development, Pre-Schools and Primary Education, School Infrastructure and Education Services 4A I කොටස : (I) ජෛදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පනුය - 2020.09.22 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 22.09.2020

- Dr. M. Upali Sedara Esquire Secretary to the State Ministry of Education Reforms, Open Universities & Distance Learning Promotion
- 4. N.H.M. Chithrananda Esquire Secretary to the State Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational Education, Research and Innovation
- S.H. Harischandra Esquire Secretary to the State Ministry of Dhamma Schools, Bhikkhu Education, Piriven & Buddhist Universities
- 6. Senior Prof. Sudantha Liyanage Esquire Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura
- 7. Prof. (Ms.) N.R. de Silva Vice Chancellor of University of Kelaniya
- 8. Prof. N.D. Gunawardana Vice Chancellor of University of Moratuwa
- 9. Prof. S. Sri Sathkunaraja Esquire Vice Chancellor of University of Jaffna
- 10. Senior Prof. J.M.U.K. Jayasinghe Esquire Vice Chancellor of University of Wayamba

And, I further appoint, Secretary to the Ministry of Education, Prof. Kapila Perera Esquire, as the Chairman of the said Task Force,

And, Additional Secretary to the State Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational Education, Research and Innovation Ms. Deepa Liyanage, as the Secretary of this Task Force.

Given at Colombo under the Seal of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka on the 22nd day of September Two Thousand and Twenty.

By His Excellency's Command,

P. B. JAYASUNDERA, Secretary to the President.