

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

**EXTRAORDINARY** 

අංක 2280/22 - 2022 මැයි මස 17 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2022.05.17 No. 2280/22 - TUESDAY, MAY 17, 2022

(Published by Authority)

#### PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

### FILLING OF A VACANCY UNDER PARAGRAPH 13(b) OF ARTICLE 99 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

WHEREAS, the Secretary General of Parliament has informed the Election Commission, under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Ninth Parliament by reason of death of **Mr. Amarakeerthi Athukorala**, who was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the Electoral District No. 18 – Polonnaruwa under Section 62 of the aforesaid Act;

And whereas, the Returning Officer, for the electoral district which returned the said member was directed by the Election Commission under Section 64(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, to fill this vacancy as provided for under Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution;

And whereas, the said Returning Officer acting under Section 64(2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, and in terms of Sub Article 99(13)(B) of the Constitution has made a return in Form "M" set out in the First Schedule to the aforesaid Act, to the effect that **Mr. S. Jagath Samarawickrama** was declared elected as a Member of Parliament for the said electoral district;

Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers vested in the Election Commission by Section 64 (2) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, does hereby notify that **Mr. S. Jagath Samarawickrama** has been



2A

declared elected as a Member of the Ninth Parliament for the Electoral District No. 18 – Polonnaruwa to fill the vacancy caused by reason of death of **Mr. Amarakeerthi Athukorala**.

NIMAL G. PUNCHIHEWA Chairman, Election Commission. S.B. DIVARATHNE Member Election Commission. M.M. MOHAMED Member Election Commission.

K.P.P. PATHIRANA Member Election Commission. P.S.M. CHARLES Member Election Commission.

At the Election Commission, Rajagiriya. On this 17th day of May, 2022.

EOG 05-0079