

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2283/39 - 2022 ජුනි මස 10 වැනි සිකුරාදා - 2022.06.10 No. 2283/39 - FRIDAY, JUNE 10, 2022

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT No. 1 OF 1981

Filling of a Vacancy under Section 64 (5)

WHEREAS the Secretary General of the Parliament has informed the Election Commission under Section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by Section 6 of the Elections (Special Provisions) Act, No. 35 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of Parliament by reason of the resignation of **Mr. Basil Rohana Rajapaksa** being a member nominated by the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, a recognized political party, and declared elected as a Member of Parliament under Article 99A of the Constitution;

And whereas the Secretary of that Political Party was required by the Election Commission under the aforesaid a Section to nominate a member of such party to fill such vacancy;

And whereas the Secretary of the aforesaid Political Party has nominated **Mr. Kulappu Arachchige Don Dhammika Perera** to fill such vacancy;

Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers conferred by Section 64 (5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to be read together with the provisions of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic



of Sri Lanka, do hereby declare Mr.Kulappu Arachchige Don Dhammika Perera elected as a member of Parliament to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of aforesaid Mr. Basil Rohana Rajapaksa.

NIMAL G. PUNCHIHEWA, Chairman, Election Commission.

S.B. DIVARATNE, Member, Election Commission.

M.M. MOHAMED, Member, Election Commission.

K.P.P. PATHIRANA, Member, Election Commission.

P.S.M. CHARLES, Member, Election Commission.

Election Commission, Rajagiriya. 10th June, 2022

EOG 06-0102