

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

ಗಾರ್ ಶಿಂಡಾತ್ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Extraordinary

අංක 2379/16 - 2024 අපේල් මස 09 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2024.04.09 No. 2379/16 - TUESDAY, APRIL 09, 2024

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

REVISION OF ELECTORAL REGISTERS - 2024



Scan this QR code and check the registration information or visit our website ec.lk/vrd

Notice of the Election Commission on the display of 'A' and 'B' Lists, Claims and Objections

Definition

01. "Act"

- Registration of Electors Act, No. 44 of 1980 as amended by the Registration of Electors (Amendment) Act, No. 22 of 2021.

02. Valid Electoral Register

- The main register of the year 2023 and Supplementary Electoral Registers 2023(1), 2023(2) and 2023(3).

03. "A'List"

- List of names of persons whose names appear in the operative Electoral Register but are ineligible due to death or leaving the residence or for any other reason namely, persons who are not eligible to be in the valid electoral register and to be removed from the address.

04. "B'List"

 List of persons whose names are not included in the eligible address in the operative electoral register but are eligible for inclusion in the electoral register for the year 2024 either on completion of 18 years of age or residence or for any other reason.



Exhibition Centers of Operative Electoral Register (or part thereof) and "A" and "B" Lists

Exhibition Center Electoral register and Lists or parts thereof kept for display 01. Each District Secratariat/District Election Office Full copy of the operative electoral register in the relevant electoral district (district) and copies of the relevant "A" and "B" lists 02. Each Divisional Secretariat A copy of the operative electoral register section showing all the polling districts in the relevant Divisional Secretariat Division and copies of the relevant "A" and "B" lists 03. Each Local Authority A copy of the operative electoral register section showing all the polling districts in the relevant local authority area and copies of the relevant "A" and "B" lists 04. Each Grama Niladhari Office A copy of the operative electoral register section showing all the polling districts located in the relevant Grama Niladhari division and copies of the relevant "A" and "B" lists

Instructions

- 01. On behalf of the Registering Officer of each district, it is hereby notified that the Registering Officers mentioned in the Column II of the Schedule below for the electoral districts mentioned in the corresponding Column I of the said Schedule have notified on 09.04.2024 that the preparation of Lists "A" and "B" has been completed and that the said lists or parts thereof are placed at the aforementioned exhibition centers for inspection by the public during office hours, as per Section 13 of the Registration of Electors Act.
- 02. Every person who is qualified in terms of Section 14 of the Registration of Electors Act to have his own name or someone else's name entered in the said electoral register applicable to each electoral district and whose name has been omitted from the electoral register and from List "B" or whose name has been included in List "A" may claim by himself or by someone else on his behalf, as the case may be substantially in form "A" and "B" set out in the Schedule to above Registration of Electors Act to have his or someone else's name entered or retained in the register, and submit it to reach the registering officer of each electoral district on or before May 06, 2024, within 4 weeks from the date of the publication of this notice in the *Gazette* of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka *i.e.* from April 09. 2024.
- 03. Any person whose name appears in the electoral register or in list "B" for any electoral district may object to the entry of his own name or to the entry or retention of the name of any other person appearing in such register or list "B". Every such objection shall be made in duplicate and shall be substantially in form "C" set out in the schedule to the above Act and shall be made so as to reach the registering officer of the Election Office. All objections to the inclusion of the name in the register should be sent to the registering officer of the District Elections Office on or before May 06. 2024, within 4 weeks from the date of the publication of this notice in the *Gazette* of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka *i.e.* from April 09, 2024.
- 04. Every objection to the entry of the name of any claimant in the electoral register shall be made in duplicate and shall be substantially in form "D" set out in the schedule to the above Act and shall be made so as to reach the registering officer within 14 days from the date on which the notice containing the name of claimants is exhibited at the District Election Office. This notice will be published in the District Election Offices on April 25, 2024 and May 09, 2024.

05. Form "A" "B" required for submission of claims and Form "C" "D" required for submission of objections can be obtained from the District Election Offices, Divisional Secretariats, Local Authorities or Grama Niladhari Offices.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission.

At the Elections Secretariat, April 09, 2024.

SCHEDULE

Column I Electoral District	Column II Assistant Registering Officer who has Prepared the 2024 'A' & 'B' Lists
01. Colombo	M.M.S.K. Bandara Mapa
02. Gampaha	W.A.Ravindra Wickramasinghe
03. Kalutara	Kalindra Jayaweera Fernando
04. Mahanuwara	H. D. N. Sampath Fernando
05. Matale	H. A. E. Puspakumara
06. Nuwara Eliya	K. A. L. S. Kalugampitiya
07. Galle	W. H. R. Wijaya Kumara
08. Matara	T. W. Poshitha Kaumadi
09. Hambantota	N. Regan
10. Jaffna	R. C. Amalraj
11. Vanni	J. Jeniton
12. Batticaloa	M. B. M. Sufyan
13. Digamadulla	Kasun Srinath Attanayake
14. Trincomalee	R. Saseelan
15. Kurunegala	R. M. H. B. Ratnayake
16. Puttalam	S. L. R. Jayanayake
17. Anuradhapura	K. Muhundan
18. Polonnaruwa	Piyumi Attygalle
19. Badulla	K. Kandeepan
20. Moneragala	N. Regan
21. Ratnapura	Suranga Ambagahatenne
22. Kegalle	Sajith P. Kasthurisinghe

EOG 04 - 0110