

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2394/55 - 2024 ජූලි මස 26 වැනි සිකුරාදා - 2024.07.26 No. 2394/55 - FRIDAY JULY 26, 2024

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL Government Notifications

PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION - 2024

SECTION 119 B OF THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT, No. 15 OF 1981

Procedure for Casting Vote where there is a Reasonable Fear of an Inability to Cast Vote at a Given Polling Station

DUE to the prevailing situation in the area where his polling station is located, an elector who is reasonably fearful that he will not be able to go to and cast the vote at the given polling station, may request to be facilitated to vote at another polling station. The provisions of Section 119B of the Presidential Elections Act, No. 15 of 1981, as amended by the Presidential Elections (Amendment) Act, No. 16 of 1988, have provided in this regard.

- 02. The relevant applications can be obtained from Offices of all District Returning Officers/District Election Offices. The applications must be forwarded to reach the Election Commission, Office of the Election Commission, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya within 7 days of the nomination notice, *i. e* on or before 01st August, 2024.
- 03. It is a mandatory requirement to quote the National Identity Card Number of the applicant on the application which must be certified by the relevant Grama Niladhari where the applicant resides. Applications without the certification of the Grama Niladhari will be rejected.



04. Applicants must furnish relevant information based on the valid consolidated electoral register for polling 2024 and such registers are available at all the District Secretariats/Kachcheris and District Election Offices or the website of the Election Commission www.elections.lk.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. PERERA, Member, Election Commission.

Ameer Faaiz, Member, Election Commission.

A. Shanmuganathan, Member, Election Commission. Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, Member, Election Commission.

Election Commission, Election Commission Office, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya, On this 26th day of July, 2024.

EOG 07-0254