

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2403/22 - 2024 සැප්තැම්බර් මස 25 වැනි බදාදා - 2024.09.25 No. 2403/22 - WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 25, 2024

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION - 2024

DEPOSITS BY INDEPENDENT GROUPS UNDER SECTION 16 OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT, No. 1 OF 1981 AND NUMBER OF CANDIDATES TO BE NOMINATED BY POLITICAL PARTIES AND INDEPENDENT GROUPS FOR EACH ELECTORAL DISTRICT

THE number of members to be elected from each of the Election District at the forthcoming Parliamentary Election, the number of candidates to be nominated and the deposits required to be made by Independent Groups are shown in the schedule below. Recognized political parties are not required to make any deposit.

SCHEDULE

Name of Electoral District	Number of members to be elected	Number of candidates to be nominated	Amount of deposits to be made by an Independent Group
01. Colombo	18	21	Rs.42,000/-
02. Gampaha	19	22	Rs.44,000/-



2A I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2024.09.25 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 25.09.2024

Name of Electoral District	Number of members to be elected	Number of candidates to be nominated	Amount of deposits to be made by an Independent Group
03. Kalutara	11	14	Rs.28,000/-
04. Mahanuwara	12	15	Rs.30,000/-
05. Matale	05	08	Rs.16,000/-
06. Nuwara Eliya	08	11	Rs.22,000/-
07. Galle	09	12	Rs.24,000/-
08. Matara	07	10	Rs.20,000/-
09. Hambantota	07	10	Rs.20,000/-
10. Jaffna	06	09	Rs.18,000/-
11. Vanni	06	09	Rs.18,000/-
12. Batticaloa	05	08	Rs.16,000/-
13. Digamadulla	07	10	Rs.20,000/-
14. Trincomalee	04	07	Rs.14,000/-
15. Kurunegala	15	18	Rs.36,000/-
16. Puttalam	08	11	Rs.22,000/-
17. Anuradhapura	09	12	Rs.24,000/-
18. Polonnaruwa	05	08	Rs.16,000/-
19. Badulla	09	12	Rs.24,000/-
20. Moneragala	06	09	Rs.18,000/-
21. Ratnapura	11	14	Rs.28,000/-
22. Kegalle	09	12	Rs.24,000/-

- 02. The Government Agent/ District Secretary of Jaffina will be the Returning Officer for Jaffina Electoral District which comprises of Jaffina and Killinochchi Administrative Districts while the Government Agent/ District Secretary of Vavuniya District will be the Returning Officer of Vanni Electoral District which comprises of Mannar, Vavuniya and Mullaitivu Administrative Districts. The Returning Officer of Digamadulla Electoral District will be the Government Agent/District Secretary of Ampara Administrative District. The Government Agents/ District Secretaries of the remaining Administrative Districts will be of the Returning Officers of the respective Electoral Districts.
- 03. An Independent Group shall, between the date of publication of the Notice under Section 10 of the Parliamentary Elections Act requiring the holding of the election and the submission of the nomination paper of that group, deposit in legal tender with the Returning Officer a turn calculated at two thousand rupees in respect of each candidate nominated by such group, on working weekday during office hours. Deposits will not be accepted on 28th and 29th September 2024 and 05th and 06th October 2024.
- 04. Arrangements for receiving of deposits are made at the relevant District Secretariat or the District Elections Office.

05. Nominations will not be accepted on 05th and 06th October 2024.

R. M. A. L. RATHNAYAKE Chairman, Election Commission M. A. P. C. PERERA Member Election Commission AMEER FAAIZ
Member
Election Commission

A. SHANMUGANATHAN
Member
Election Commission

Prof. LAKSHMAN DISSANAYAKE
Member
Election Commission

Election Commission, Office of the Election Commission Sarana mawatha, Rajagiriya, On this 25th day of September, 2024.

EOG 09 - 0189