

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශෙෂ

ಇದು විශෙෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka Extraordinary

අංක 2431/32 - 2025 අපේල් මස 10 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2025**.**04**.**10 No. 2431/32 - THURSDAY, APRIL 10, 2025

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

L.D.B. 277/40 (iv)

THE ANTIQUITIES ORDINANCE (CHAPTER 188)

Notice under Section 19

I, Hiniduma Sunil Senevi, Minister of Buddhasasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs, do hereby give notice that I intend to make an Order under section 18 of The Antiquities Ordinance (Chapter 188) declaring ancient monuments specified in the Schedule to this notice as "protected monuments" for the purpose of the aforesaid Ordinance.

Objections, if any, to the making of the aforesaid Order shall be sent to the Director General of Archaeology, Colombo, on or before 07th May 2025.

Every objection shall be in writing and shall contain a statement of the grounds upon which such objection is made.

HINIDUMA SUNIL SENEVI, Minister of Buddhasasana, Religious and Cultural Affairs.

Colombo, 28th February, 2025.



SCHEDULE

Monuments to be declared as Protected Monuments

- 1. The ancient Ura keta linda, a type of deep well and the area in the extent of 5 meters around the same in the paddy field known as Badabadda situated at the village Nawagamuwa in the division of Grama Niladhari No. 10 Bathamure in Rambukkana Divisional Secretary's Division, Kegalle District in the Sabaragamuwa Province (North latitude 7º 309480 and East longitude 80º 391572).
- 2. (a) The cave temple and the premises in the extent of 03 meters on the North and South, and in the extent of 5 meters on the East and West therefrom;
 - (b) stone seat with the area in the extent of 02 meters in four directions; and
 - (c) staircase with the area in the extent of 02 meter width on both sides (North Latitude 7° 331140 N and East Longitude 80°.378013 E),

Situated at the premises of Meeduma Mahindarama Vihare in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 4E of Meeduma in Rambukkana Divisional Secretary's Division in Kegalle District in the Sabaragamuwa Province.

- 3. The ancient Image house, two Tampita Vihares (Temples on pillars), Sanghavasa (The place where monks of the Vihare are residing in) Watadageya (the house around the stupa), Pattini Devale, Dhamma Preaching Hall and the area in the extent of 02 meters from the Sangavasa on the North and from the Pattini Devale on the South and in the extent of five meters from the upper Tampita Vihare and from the ancient Dhamma Preaching Hall on the East situated at Maha Vihara premises of Nagawanarama, Kadigamuwa of the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 21 of Kadigamuwa in Rambukkana Divisional Secretary's Division in Kegalle District in the Sabaragamuwa Province (North Latitude 7º 31' 39.8" N and East Longitude 80º 42' 68.35 E)."
- 4. The Patthini Devale situated at the place known as Devalewatta and the area in the extent of 5 meters in four directions around the same in the village Nugawela in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 05 Deliwala in Rambukkana Divisional Secretary's Division in Kegalle District in the Sabaragamuwa Province (North Latitude 7º 33521" N and East Longitude 80º 384336" E).
- 5. The Tampita Vihare and the area in the extent of 02 meters around the same at the place known as Medagodella situated in the village Kurempola in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 10B of Kurempola in Rambukkana Divisional Secretary's Division in Kegalle District in the Sabaragamuwa Province (North Latitude 7º 31' 66.6"N and East Longitude 80° 38' 39.37"E).
- 6. The Slab Inscription and the area in the extent of two feet around the same in the premises of Kumbalwathumulla ancient Vihare situated in the village Moladanda in the Division of Grama Niladhari of 148 of Moladanda in Yatinuwara Divisional Secretary's Division in Kandy District in the Central Province.
- 7. Tampita Vihare (The Temple on pillars) and the area in the extent of 10 feet of around the same at Dembawa Purana Vihare in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. E 430 of Dembawa in Galewela Divisional Secretary's Division in Matale District in the Central Province (North Latitude 7º 69' 43.8"N and East Longitude 80º 55' 25.68"E).
- 8. The Stone Cave with drip ledges and the area in the extent of 20 feet in all the four directions therefrom and the pathway in the breath of 6 feet to enter in to the cave situated in the premises of Sri Shailabimbarama Purana Viharae in the village of Tennakoonpura in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. E 438 C of Tennakoonpura in Galewela Divisional Secretary's Division in Matale District in Central Province (North Latitude 7º 82' 58 "N and East Longitude 80º 62' 21.11"E).

- 9. The ancient Dhamma preaching hall and the belfry at the premises of Kumara Maha Vihare in the village of Dodanduwa (Gammaduwawatta) in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 53A of Gammaduwatta in Hikkaduwa Divisional Secretary's Division in Galle District in the Southern Province (North Latitude 6º 06' 44.95"N and East Longitude 80º 07' 29.65"E).
- 10. The Image House on pillars and the surrounding area in the extent of 5 feet situated at Sri Sudharmarama Purana Pothgul Vihare at Watagedara in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 337/A of Watagedara in Thihagoda Divisional Secretary's Division in Matara District in the Southern Province (North Latitude 5°59' 25.1"N and East Longitude 80° 32'21.5").
- 11. The mound of Chaitya, premises in the extent of 50 meters around the same, ruins of buildings and the area in the extent of 5 meters around the same at the premises of Ancient Temple, Amarathungama in the Division Grama Niladhari No.222 of Amarathungama in Angunakolapelassa Divisional Secretary's Division in Hambantota District in the Southern Province.
- 12. The Mound of Chaitya and the area in the extent of 50 meters around the same at the site of Welagathwala Purana Raja Maha Vihare situated in the village known as Jadura in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 197 of Jadura in Angunakolapalassa Divisional Secretary's Division in Hambantota District in the Southern Province (North Latitude 6° 9' 5"N and East Longitude 80° 53' 22"E).
- 13. The Mound of Chaitya and the area in the extent of 50 meters around the same at the site of Milakkatissa Raja Maha Vihare, Uswewa in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 225 of Uswewa in Angunakolapalassa Divisional Secretary's Division in Hambantota District in the Southern Province (North Latitude 6º 14' 46"N and East Longitude 80º 51' 58"E).
- 14. The ancient house and the premises in the extent of 1.5 meters around the same in the plot of land known as Pingodawatta situated at the village Walpola in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 181C of Bandungala in Yakkalamulla Divisional Secretary's Division in Galle District in the Southern Province.
- 15. The Mound of Stupa and the area in the extent of 10 meters in all four directions at the site of Bogandana Vihare situated in the village Bogandana in the Division of Grama Niladhari No.157- C of We-eliya in Haldummulla Divisional Secretary's Division in Badulla District in the Uva Province (North Latitude 6º 42' 56.3"N and East Longitude 80º 52' 19.6"E).
- 16. The Avasa Geya (The place where monks of the Vihare are residing in), Image house, and the area in the extent of 05 Meters around each of the monument situated in the premises of Mathikarama Vihare of Kirawanagama in the Division of Grama Niladhari No. 156 of Kirawanagama in Haldummulla Divisional Secretary's Division in Badulla District in the Uva Province (North Latitude 6^o 44' 16.31"N and East Longitude 80^o 55' 55.41"E).

EOG 04 - 0025