

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශෙෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2444/07 - 2025 ජූලි මස 07 වැනි සඳුදා - 2025.07.07 No. 2444/07 - MONDAY, JULY 07, 2025

(Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS ACT, No. 1 OF 1981

Filling of a Vacancy under Section 64 (5)

WHEREAS the Secretary General of the Parliament has informed the Election Commission under Section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981, as amended by Section 6 of the Elections (Special Provisions) Act, No. 35 of 1988, that a vacancy has occurred in the membership of the Tenth Parliament by reason of the resignation of **Mr. Harshana Sooriyapperuma** being a member nominated by the Jathika Jana Balawegaya, a recognized political party, and declared elected as a Member of Parliament under Article 99A of the Constitution ;

And whereas the Secretary of that Political Party was required by the Election Commission under the aforesaid Section to nominate an eligible person to fill such vacancy ;

And whereas the Secretary of the aforesaid Political Party has nominated **Mr. Ushettige Don Nishantha Jayaweera** to fill such vacancy;

Now therefore, the Election Commission, in the exercise of the powers conferred on the Commission by Section 64 (5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 to be read together with the provisions of the Nineteenth Amendment



¹A- G 44764 - 374 (07/2025)

This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk

2A I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2025.07.07 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 07.07.2025

to the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, do hereby declare **Mr. Ushettige Don Nishantha** Jayaweera, elected as a member of the Tenth Parliament to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of aforesaid **Mr. Harshana Sooriyapperuma**.

R. M. A. L. Rathnayake, Chairman, Election Commission. M. A. P. C. Perera, Member, Election Commission. Ameer Faaiz, Member, Election Commission.

A. Shanmuganathan, Member, Election Commission. *Prof.* Lakshman Dissanayake, Member, Election Commission.

Election Commission, Rajagiriya, 07th July, 2025.

EOG 07 - 0072